This month reading has fallen to the wayside to make time for Camp NaNoWriMo. At the end of the day, I’m worded out enough that picking up a book and trying to give it the proper care and attention it deserves makes me give an exhausted little twitch. I want to give the books I read my best, I don’t want to spend a half-hour reading the same paragraph over and over and over again… I given serious thought to letting Nancy send Weeping Angel pictures if I don’t read the books currently collecting dust on my shelf. Fortunately, come August, there will be another way to motivate me: Nancy is hosting a To Be Read Readthon, complete with sign-ups, prizes, and buttons to place on your blog, website, Facebook, Twitter, etc. to let everyone know about it!

The rules and sign up are available here. Join us! It’ll be massive amounts of fun. (Especially since my school year starts on August 19th. Oh gods.)

My August TBR List:

Ruined by Paula Morris
Fated by Benedict Jacka
A Letter of Mary by Laurie R. King
Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys
Dragon Champion by E.E. Knight
The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa
Looking for Alaska by John Green
The Stone Rose by  Jaqueline Rayner
I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have To Kill You by Ally Carter
Steadfast by Mercedes Lackey
Heir Apparent by Vivian Vande Velde
Dragon and Thief by Timothy Zahn

Read:

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa: I liked the book a lot even if my long-standing familiarity with mythology/fairy tales/TVtropes allowed me to call a few points ahead of time. The sequel is sitting in my bag now!

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman: I finished the book in an hour flat and promptly texted Nancy “GODS DAMMIT WHY IS HE SUCH A GENIUS?” I love Neil Gaiman’s work and this shows the best of his talent– taking the boring and the mundane and mixing it together with the fantastical in ways that no one seems to think about. Even with my aforementioned familiarity with mythology et. al, I was still delighted and horrified in turns with the story he wove. When I first saw the book I was surprised at how small it was but it was just further proof of Neil’s skill as a writer– He didn’t need anymore pages. I was just as satisfied with this as I was with American Gods despite the disparate lengths.

The Stone Rose by Jaqueline Rayner: Ok, I liked this book for the blatant Doctor/Rose shipping in the last few pages but overall I wasn’t a fan of the writing. It felt stilted and jerky, moving the POV from the Doctor to Rose and back and I found myself bored at parts where I shouldn’t have been– Like the Doctor escaping the Colosseum. Part of me wonders if this can be improved by listening to the audiobook…I should check. For reading-science! Totally not because it’s narrated by David Tennant. Nope. Definitely not.

I’d Tell You I Love You … by Ally Carter: Well. I tore through this book in about two hours and immediately started placing all the other books in the series on hold when I saw that my library didn’t have them as ebooks (except for the fourth book, what?). I love Ally’s characters and the world she’s building and all of the pop culture references andandand like…everything. I NEED MORE ALLY CARTER BOOKS IN MY LIFE.

Wrapped by Jennifer Bradbury: Ok, I loved this book. Not as much as ITYILU but it was a photo finish. Proper Regency lady rebelling against Society’s constraints? Translating Jane Austen quotes into how many languages when stressed? Becoming a spy with her utterly fantastic, antagonistic, love interest to beat Napoleon? 😀 Please tell me this will be a series. PLEASE.

A Letter of Mary and Dragon Champion: Sadly removed from the list due to lack of interest in them at the current moment.

The Iron Daughter: I was really disappointed in this book– I kept waiting for something more plot-like to happen but found the book to be bogged down by a horribly cliche love triangle and a main character who seems steadfastly set on not developing. This was especially irritating since I’m a character reader/writer and can’t look past the bad characters to what may be going on with the plot.

Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys: Wow. Probably like most people I assumed this book was set in and during the Holocaust and while it’s dealing with the same time period, it focuses on another, completely unknown travesty. Go read it.

Ruined by Paula Morris: I was drawn in by the idea of ghost and New Orleans culture and while the book was well-written, I wasn’t wildly enthused by the characters or plot. Probably going to give the next book a pass.

Fated by Benedict Jacka: I liked this book a lot! There’s some intriguing character and world building (the magic system!!!) and sly references to the Dresden Files (a favorite series of mine) and the plot kept me guessing at every turn. Next one please!

I have three other books but I hope to finish them before the end of July. They are Wrapped by Jennifer Bradbury, The Iron King by Julie Kagawa, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman. Weeping Angel pictures may or may not be involved.

